Podcasts
Universal

Description

Learn, laugh, and stay informed. Discover hundreds of thousands of downloadable podcasts, from thought-provoking stories to hilarious interviews to sports and politics. Search categories, subscribe to your favorites to get free updates, and see what’s rising to the top of the charts.

Features

Discover

• Explore hundreds of thousands of free podcasts on a variety of topics, including arts, business, comedy, music, news, sports, and more.

• Subscribe to your favorites and automatically get new episodes for free as they become available.

• Browse audio or video podcasts, or see what's most popular in Top Charts.

• Keep up with the latest episodes from your favorite podcasts in the Unplayed tab.

Play

• Enjoy all of your audio and video podcasts in a single app.

• Skip forward and back using simple playback controls.

• Adjust the playback speed of your audio or video podcasts.

• Control playback from anywhere in the app with the MiniPlayer.

• Turn on Sleep Timer to automatically stop playing a podcast while listening in bed.

• Stream episodes or download them to listen while offline.

• Ask Siri to play specific shows or stations by name, like “Play TEDTalks.”

• Take your podcasts on the road and listen through CarPlay.

• Experience your favorite podcasts on Apple TV using Podcasts for tvOS.

• Subscribe to podcasts that require authentication—just tap the + button in Unplayed or My Podcasts and select “Add Podcast.”

Organize

• Receive a notification when new episodes from podcasts you've subscribed to become available.

• Add new podcasts to the top of your queue without pausing the one you’re listening to. Just find a podcast you want and select Play Next, or tap Add to Up Next to put it at the bottom of your queue.

• Download new episodes automatically when they become available, even when the app is not open.

• Save your favorite episodes to keep them on your device.

• Share your favorite episodes with friends using AirDrop, Facebook, Twitter, Messages, and Mail.

Sync

• Easily pick up where you left off. iCloud remembers your place in an episode, your subscriptions, and your stations—and keeps them up-to-date on your devices, Mac, PC, and Apple TV.

• Optionally sync episodes and playlists from iTunes on your Mac or PC.

What's new in version 2.5

Bug fixes

Screenshots

Linked Opinion

Faved by Rachel Olsen

Version 2.2 – May 3, 2015 at 6:57 PM

Listen to any podcast. Use mostly on runs or long drives.

Not Recommended by Adam Christianson

Version 1.0.56 – August 5, 2012 at 5:05 AM

It's a nice first start, but there are better 3rd party apps like Downcast or Instacast.
I second the Instacast recommendation!
Andrew Douch said:
i've switched from Downcast to Podcasts. It used to be really buggy - but it is running really great for me now, and unlike Downcast it can download my podcasts in the background and doesn't time out like Downcast does.

Recommended by Skip Owens

Version 1.1 – September 22, 2012 at 3:50 AM

When it first came out it was REALLY sluggish. Seems to work fine now!

Faved by Jimmie Brown

Version 1.1.1 – September 28, 2012 at 7:12 AM

Not Recommended by R. Bruce Jones

Version 1.1.1 – September 28, 2012 at 7:25 AM

Recommended by Sean Lippert

Version 1.1.1 – September 28, 2012 at 6:39 PM

Used to use Stitcher. Like Apple's app better. It started off buggy but has gotten way better.

Recommended by Jon Oransky

Version 1.1.1 – September 29, 2012 at 8:02 AM

listen to the We Have Communicators podcast :)
Good idea ;)

Recommended by Forrest Tanaka

Version 1.1.1 – September 29, 2012 at 11:16 AM

The first version of this app was pretty frustrating to use, but now that podcasts are out of the Music app in iOS 6, I went back to the updated version and it’s quite good now, though it needs improvement. I don’t separate my podcasts into different playlists, so I don’t miss that functionality. It does everything I want now. UPDATE 1.1.2: I had huge problems with hundreds of old podcasts showing up as new, but the 2012/11/03 update 1.1.2 fixed that, and now I have no complaints left. It’s great!

Not Recommended by Eric Kreider

Version 1.1.1 – September 29, 2012 at 11:21 AM

Still is sub-par.

Not Recommended by Tim

Version 1.1.1 – September 29, 2012 at 11:29 AM

Recommended by Paula Peffer

Version 1.1.1 – September 29, 2012 at 9:04 PM

Use app to watch video podcast on apple tv

Not Recommended by Terry Austin

Version 1.1.1 – October 1, 2012 at 6:21 AM

Apple made a podcast app... aw, how cute. I like iCatcher or InstaCast.

Not Recommended by Jerry Goldbaum

Version 1.1.1 – October 1, 2012 at 8:41 AM

Not Recommended by Joel Massey

Version 1.1.1 – October 1, 2012 at 1:09 PM

tons better out there. i prefer iCatcher! over the other top podcast managers

Recommended by Mike Rapin

Version 1.1.1 – October 1, 2012 at 9:32 PM

Not Recommended by Mark Given

Version 1.1.1 – October 2, 2012 at 3:36 PM

Recommended by Jerry

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 5:30 AM

Not Recommended by Gareth Ball

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 5:51 AM

Apple could have done so much better. I much prefer Downcast

Not Recommended by Juan Monroy

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 8:43 AM

A sad 1.0 release. I'm sticking with Downcast

Not Recommended by Daniel Carter

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 4:55 PM

I'm not sure why Apple is trying to force users to use an app that's still buggy, but if you want to still sync your podcasts with iTunes, this is the way to do it. And by "sync" I don't mean that you have to download them with iTunes, I download them via the app but I sync with iTunes so I can seamlessly start a podcast on my phone and finish it on the computer.

Recommended by Carl Braga

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 5:34 PM

Recommended by Ron Blandino

Version 1.1.1 – October 3, 2012 at 7:29 PM

This app is buggy to say the least. The reason I recommend it is, 1. It's made by Apple and hopefully will get better. 2. It's free. You have nothing to lose. Downcast and Instacast are both good alternatives and well worth the money.

Recommended by Daniel Hopkins

Version 1.1.1 – October 4, 2012 at 6:29 AM

I love this app. I have an adapter in my car, so my wife and I listen to podcasts on our road trips, and I enjoy having something besides music to listen to at the gym. Highly recommended. Also, Apple seems to have fixed some laggyness in its most recent update.

Recommended by Achim Sondermann

Version 1.1.1 – October 4, 2012 at 6:57 AM

Recommended by Jared Apperson

Version 1.1.1 – October 5, 2012 at 7:53 PM

Not Recommended by Justyn Crane

Version 1.1.1 – October 6, 2012 at 5:32 AM

Faved by Viki Poole

Version 1.1.1 – October 6, 2012 at 7:07 AM

It still needs a few tweaks, but I listen to podcasts most of the day and this does the trick.

Not Recommended by Paul White

Version 1.1.1 – October 7, 2012 at 6:23 PM

Recommended by Travis

Version 1.1.1 – October 9, 2012 at 5:25 AM

Recommended by Jacob Rush

Version 1.1.1 – October 10, 2012 at 5:25 AM

Tried this out yesterday. Liking it much more than downcast so far.

Not Recommended by Joseph

Version 1.1.1 – October 10, 2012 at 11:27 AM

I can't even begin to list the problems. Biggest disappointment with iOS 6 is removal of podcasts from Music app.

Faved by Bart Dorsey

Version 1.1.1 – October 11, 2012 at 7:18 PM

Not Recommended by Fred Zelders

Version 1.1.1 – October 12, 2012 at 10:39 PM

Not Recommended by Lawrence Standley

Version 1.1.1 – October 16, 2012 at 1:15 AM

it is a app that has great potential. I really expected better from Apple. Very buggy but I still have hope that it will get better in the future.

Not Recommended by Quentin James

Version 1.1.1 – October 18, 2012 at 8:11 AM

Worst. App. EVER!

Not Recommended by John Fuller

Version 1.1.1 – October 18, 2012 at 1:18 PM

Was not impressed with this app. Has some little nagging issues and no where near as nice as Downcast.

Not Recommended by Greg Baker

Version 1.1.1 – October 20, 2012 at 6:00 AM

Recommended by Oleg Neyolov

Version 1.1.1 – October 21, 2012 at 10:31 PM

Not Recommended by Peter

Version 1.1.1 – October 22, 2012 at 11:29 PM

Use Downcast instead.

Recommended by Carl Harrison

Version 1.1.1 – October 30, 2012 at 10:44 PM

Recommended by Bascom Guffin

Version 1.1.2 – November 8, 2012 at 12:02 PM

Not Recommended by Darren Scorza

Version 1.1.2 – November 16, 2012 at 12:27 PM

Two revisions and it's still not close to Prime Time. Buy Downcast.

Not Recommended by Filip Nosek

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 7:40 AM

Not Recommended by Michael Sadowski

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 7:47 AM

Feh. Terrible effort. Instacast is still the winner on the iPhone, Downcast on the iPad for consuming podcasts. This app is slow & doesn't always work properly. Pass!

Not Recommended by Dale Riley

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 2:07 PM

Don't go near it. Very disappointing app from Apple.

Not Recommended by John Skibinski

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 4:46 PM

Faved by Paul Alvarez

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 8:59 PM

Faved by Dhruv

Version 1.1.2 – November 19, 2012 at 9:36 PM

Not Recommended by Randall Schuff

Version 1.1.2 – November 20, 2012 at 3:12 AM

Not Recommended by Grant Bloedow

Version 1.1.2 – November 20, 2012 at 4:53 AM

For VERY light podcast use or discovery this may be OK. But anyone who listens regularly will benefit from some of the paid apps such as Instacast and Downcast.

Recommended by Jan Söderström

Version 1.1.2 – November 20, 2012 at 11:28 AM