Editorial
Universal

Description

Editorial is a plain text editor for iOS with powerful automation tools and a beautiful inline preview for Markdown, TaskPaper, and Fountain documents.

Features:

* Inline Markdown/Fountain Preview – With Editorial's subtle syntax highlighting, you can see your document's formatting immediately while you're writing. And when you need a full HTML preview, it's just a swipe away.

* Extensible with Workflows and Scripts – Select from over 50 text processing actions to create your own workflows for extending Editorial's feature set. For even more advanced automation, you can write Python scripts with an integrated code and UI editor.

* Dropbox Sync – The sync folder is customizable, so you can easily edit your documents with multiple apps.

* Smart Keyboard – The extended keyboard was specifically designed for writing Markdown and includes all the special characters you need. You can also control the cursor with simple swipe gestures.

* Snippets – Quickly insert frequently-used pieces of text by typing abbreviations. Snippets can include dynamic text, e.g. the current date or clipboard contents. TextExpander™ snippets are also supported.

* In-App Browser – If you need to do some quick research while writing, you don't have to leave the app for that. You can even open multiple tabs.

* "Folding" allows you to quickly hide individual sections of your document while you're writing.

*** *** ***

“It would be hard to imagine a better editor, let alone recommend one that actually exists.” — The Verge

“This is it. Editorial sets a new standard for third-party iOS automation, and, for me, there’s no going back.” — Federico Viticci, MacStories

“Editorial just reinvented iOS text editing.” — Merlin Mann

What's new in version 1.2.1

* Fixed various crashes on iOS 7
* New "Sync with Dropbox" workflow action

Screenshots

Linked Opinion

Recommended by Eric Cardenas

Version 1.0 – November 21, 2013 at 5:07 AM

Recommended by Skip Owens

Version 1.0 – September 7, 2013 at 6:00 PM

We may very well look back at this app and say this is where the REAL app development started on iOS! An amazing text editor and an even better extreme techy productivity tool!

Recommended by Yaron

Version 1.0 – September 22, 2013 at 12:54 PM

Recommended by Terry Austin

Version 1.0 – September 24, 2013 at 10:18 AM

Faved by J.Koopmans

Version 1.0 – September 25, 2013 at 9:24 PM

Wow!

Recommended by Joel Mearig

Version 1.0 – October 12, 2013 at 12:17 PM

Best text editor on the iPad

Faved by Susan Kelly

Version 1.0 – October 22, 2013 at 11:26 PM

The very very very best app I've ever used for writing. Love it!

Recommended by Devin King

Version 1.0 – November 19, 2013 at 6:48 PM

Recommended by Todd A. Peperkorn

Version 1.0 – November 22, 2013 at 12:12 PM

Rated so-so by Shawn Callahan

Version 1.0 – November 23, 2013 at 11:52 PM

Recommended by Erik Wessel-Berg

Version 1.0 – November 26, 2013 at 9:01 AM

Rated so-so by Don Matteson

Version 1.0 – November 30, 2013 at 3:57 PM

I love what this app can do, and the amazing potential with workflows. One thing keeps me from loving this app: I get an awful and distracting flicker near the bottom of the screen on my iPad when using the app. I sent an email to the developer with screen caps documenting the problem, but no response or resolution. No big deal -- I'd rather he focus on fixing the problem instead of emailing me. Fix the flicker and it'll be my go-to editor again.

Recommended by Tyson Taylor

Version 1.0 – December 4, 2013 at 10:42 AM

Recommended by Odaiwai

Version 1.0 – January 10, 2014 at 1:47 AM

Faved by Regina King

Version 1.0 – January 23, 2014 at 8:52 PM

Recommended by Charles Ammon

Version 1.0 – February 28, 2014 at 1:29 AM

Nice editor with powerful automation engine.

Recommended by Christopher Morse

Version 1.0 – March 2, 2014 at 4:54 PM

Faved by Gjl

Version 1.0 – March 18, 2014 at 4:27 PM

Recommended by David

Version 1.0 – April 12, 2014 at 10:30 AM

Recommended by Ed Moloney

Version 1.0 – April 23, 2014 at 12:08 PM

Recommended by Johnny Baker

Version 1.0 – April 25, 2014 at 11:35 AM

Recommended by Jeff K

Version 1.0 – April 26, 2014 at 8:40 AM

Recommended by Chris Parker

Version 1.0 – April 29, 2014 at 3:12 AM

Faved by Fred Zelders

Version 1.1.1 – August 4, 2014 at 6:52 AM

Recommended by Axel Graff

Version 1.1.1 – September 7, 2014 at 9:12 AM

Recommended by Mark Tyler

Version 1.1.1 – November 21, 2014 at 4:04 AM

Recommended by Hajas Marcell

Version 1.1.1 – November 28, 2014 at 7:09 AM

Recommended by Scott

Version 1.1.1 – January 1, 2015 at 5:12 PM

Not my daily driver writing app, but it's just a great editor. It was hugely influential in ios automation.

Faved by Latenightlizzie

Version 1.0 – August 3, 2015 at 12:37 PM

Recommended by Douglas

Version 1.2.1 – December 7, 2015 at 11:01 AM

Recommended by Marci

Version 1.2.1 – June 26, 2016 at 10:30 AM